Marshall Elected County Commission Chairman

The first formal action taken by the Mitchell County Commissioners at their weekly meeting Monday morning was to elect Commissioner Jim Marshall Commission
Chairman for the year 2014. Commissioner Tom Claussen made the motion, which was seconded by out going Chairman Mike Cooper. Commissioner Claussen was elected Vice Chairman for the coming year.

Commissioner Cooper presented two resolutions to be passed during the meeting. The first was Resolution 1-14 to take care of a waiver of the General Accepted Accounting Principles, better known as the GAAP procedure of accounting. The commissioners approved this resolution.

The second action was Resolution 02-14, to approve allowing the Kansas Legislature and Governor Sam Brownback to retain mortgage fees. This action was encouraged by the Kansas Association of Counties or (KAC) that this county is a member of. The document will be sent to the Topeka for approval.

Commissioner Claussen reminded everyone that U.S. Senator Jerry Moran; Republican from Kansas would be hosting a town hall meeting in Beloit as part of his Kansas Listening Tour on Friday, Jan. 10, in the Trail Room in the basement of the Municipal Building from 3:30 to 4:30 p.m. Area residents are encouraged to attend and share feedback with Sen. Moran on the critical issues facing Kansas and the nation.

There being no other scheduled appointments on the agenda the commissioners went into a work session until 9:30 in case anyone came in and asked to be placed on the agenda. There being none Chairman Marshall closed the meeting.

Other News

Like us on Facebook! Job Hub